Instagram is one of the most popular social media platforms in the world. You might have seen many of your friends and other people that you know, on Instagram, and also you might be following each other. But if you are in a situation, where you want to post something on your Instagram, but you want to hide that post from some people that follow you, well, do not worry, since we got you covered on this. We are going to see what can we do, in order to achieve this.
How do Hide posts from someone on Instagram without blocking them
The thing is that if you are posting on Instagram, as of now, Instagram does not let us have any control over restricting some people from seeing some posts that you have posted on your profile. If you have a private account, only the people who follow you would be able to see the post.
One thing is that you can straightaway block the person/people that you wish not to show the posts, but let’s say that you do not even want to block them, but you just want to restrict them from seeing the post.
So, we will see some things that we can do here, in order to restrict who can see your posts on Instagram. Here is the table of contents for a quick glimpse.
- If your account is public, you can turn it into a private account.
- Remove those people from your followers
- Archive the posts
- You can keep a story
If your account is public, you can turn it into a private account.
Let’s say that you have a public account on Instagram. This simply means that anyone, who does not even follow you can see your posts. But let’s say that you do not want anyone who does not follow you, to have a look at your posts. So, in this case, you can simply make your account private. To make your account private, you can simply follow the given steps –
- On the Instagram application, tap on the profile icon in the lower right corner of the screen.
- Tap on the three horizontal lines (Menu icon) in the upper right corner.
- Tap on settings.
- Tap privacy.
- Under the Account privacy section, you can find the option for Private Account, you just need to toggle that on.
Now, your account is private, which means that only the people who follow you, can see your posts. The thing is that they will have to request you to follow them, and if you accept their follow request, then only they will be following you.
So, by making your account private, you can ensure that only the people who are following you can see your posts.
Remove those people from your followers
Well, if you have a private account, and you do not want to let some specific people (who are your followers) see your posts, and you do not even want to block them, you can instead remove them as your followers. Follow these steps to remove someone as your follower.
- On the Instagram application, go to the user profile (the profile that you want to remove as a follower)
- Tap on the three-dotted icon in the top right corner.
- You can see an option, which says remove follower. You just need to tap on that option.
You can also remove someone from your follower list, just by going to your profile, tapping on followers, and then tapping remove on the side of the profile that you want to remove.
So, once you have removed them as a follower, they won’t be able to see any of your posts.
The thing is that you cannot hide a single post from someone. Your posts are hidden from people if you have blocked them, or in case you have a private account.
Archive the posts
Archiving the post simply means that you are hiding it from your profile and making it disappear such that your followers / other people on Instagram cannot even see it. This is different from deleting the post. To archive, some posts from your profile, follow the given steps.
- Go to your profile on Instagram.
- Click on the post that you want to archive.
- Tap on the three dots icon on the top right corner of the post.
- Tap on the archive option.
Once you have archived the posts, you are simply hiding the posts from your profile, making them disappear for all your followers. But you can see them, and also unarchive them. Also, the thing is that alternatively, to let people not see your posts, you can delete those posts. You may not want to do this, since this can be an extreme step, but if you decide to delete the posts, here are the steps you need to follow.
- Go to your profile on Instagram.
- Click on the post that you want to delete.
- You can find the three dots icon in the top right corner. You have to tap on that icon.
- You can see several options, out of which, you need to tap on delete.
- You would get a confirmation message asking for the deletion of the post.
So, either by deleting or archiving the post, you can take the post away from anyone.
You can keep a story
As of now, you might be familiar with the fact that Instagram won’t allow us to restrict our posts from someone, but you can achieve this using a story. When you keep a story, you can choose if you want to hide your story from someone. To hide your story from someone, you just need to follow the given steps.
- Tap on your profile on Instagram.
- Tap on the three horizontal lines icon.
- Then, tap on settings.
- There, you can find the option Privacy.
- Then tap on Story
- Tap the number of people below Hide the Story from
- Select the people you want to hide your story from, and tap on the top left icon(which looks like a left arrow).
So, when you hide your story from someone, it is very straightforward, that they won’t be able to view your story in the future as well, till you do not unhide them. Remember that this does not prevent them from seeing your profile and posts. This is different from blocking the user.
Hiding your post on Instagram can many times become necessary for you, and in this article, we have seen a few things that can be done to achieve this task. The thing is that Instagram does not let us restrict our posts to some particular profiles, but we can instead do some other things, like making our account private, so that only the people who follow us can see our posts. Other than this, you can also archive the posts, or remove them as your followers.
FAQ about hiding posts from someone on Instagram without blocking
Ans: When you archive some post, this simply means that you are hiding the post from your profile, making it disappear for all your followers.
Ans: In order to make your account private, you can simply follow the given simple steps.
Tap on your profile icon in the bottom right corner.
Tap on the three horizontal lines icon in the upper right corner.
Tap on Settings.
Tap on Privacy
Under the Account Privacy section, you can find the option for Private Account. You just need to toggle it on.
Ans: When you restrict someone, they won’t be able to see when you are online, and also if you have read their messages. The restricted person does not receive any notification for future comments from the user. Restricting some accounts is different from blocking, and the user is not notified that he/she is restricted.
Ans: There are multiple ways to hide your posts from someone on Instagram. You can either remove them as your followers, archive your posts, or even you can make your account private, letting only the followers see your posts. We cannot put many restrictions in the case of posts, but we can do so in the case of stories, so you can choose to put stories, and hide the stories from those people.