Home How To How to delete retweets on Twitter

How to delete retweets on Twitter

How to delete retweets on Twitter

Twitter, a social media platform, is one of the most widely used platforms. As of 2020, there are 330 million users on Twitter with nearly 500 million tweets every day and 200 billion tweets annually. Many big personalities are often active on Twitter.

On such a big platform, if you have mistakenly made a retweet, or for any reason you want to delete your retweets, we are here to help you.

How to delete retweets on Twitter

How to delete retweets on Twitter
How to delete retweets on Twitter

So here is how you can delete your retweets from Twitter. There might be many ways to do so, but we will have a look at some easy and quick ways:

  • Deleting retweet manually
  • Your retweet getting deleted automatically
  • How to delete retweets in bulk

Deleting retweet manually

  • If you are using a mobile device, do the following steps to delete your retweet:
    Open the Twitter application.
  • Go to your profile.
  • Find the retweet that you wish to delete.
  • Click on the green retweet icon near the like button.
  • Your retweet will be removed from your timeline, and hence will not be shown in any of your follower’s feeds.
  • If you are using a desktop/laptop, do the following steps to delete your retweet:
    open Twitter in any browser.
  • Go to your profile. (you will find the profile option by clicking your avatar icon.)
  • find the retweet you wish to delete.
  • Click on the green retweet icon near the like button.
  • Your retweet will be deleted from your timeline and hence not shown to any of your followers in his/her feed.

Note: If you find the retweet icon in gray color instead of green color, it means that this retweet is quite old. If you want to delete this retweet, you will need to retweet the retweet again and then delete it.

  • The Retweets that you have made can be undone/deleted with help of the retweet icon in the tweet. When you click this icon, your retweet will be deleted from your timeline, but the original tweet will not be deleted.
  • A tweet can be retweeted many times, but only the most recent 100 retweets will be shown.
  • Any retweet done will reflect your per-day limit of tweets.
  • Some accounts with a lock icon have their tweets protected and one cannot retweet their content. However, if you have a protected account, you can still retweet. Only people who have followed you will be able to view those retweets.

Your retweet getting deleted automatically

  • If the tweet is deleted or removed from Twitter, to which you had made a retweet, then you don’t have to worry, your retweet will disappear with that tweet.

For more details on how to delete retweets, you may visit the official Twitter help center at https://help.twitter.com/en/using-twitter/retweet-faqs#:~:text=How%20can%20I%20undo%20or,not%20delete%20the%20original%20Tweet

How to delete retweets in Bulk

  • If you want to delete retweets in bulk, it would be quite hectic to do it manually, and you may wish to find a way by which in few clicks, some or all your retweets get deleted.
  • One such way is Circleboom. This is retweet cleaner free. You can check the circle boom website at https://circleboom.com/delete-retweets/ to know more.
  • With circle boom, you can filter, sort, list, and delete your retweets in bulk.
  • Circleboom helps you delete some or all of your retweets. This reduces the time required by you to delete all retweets manually.
  • Using this API, you can delete some or all your retweets with just a few clicks.

Conclusion

these are some of the effective ways which can help you delete your retweets. However, we do not recommend giving access to some third-party APIs to delete your retweets. Giving someone access to your account can make your account prone to attacks. Therefore, it is always better to delete or remove the retweets manually.

Frequently Questions on Twitter Retweet

1.How to Delete Twitter Likes and Retweets?
Ans: You can use circle boom to select and delete retweets. Alternative software to circle boom is Semiphemeral, which is easy to use. With ephemeral, you can delete old retweets, tweets, and even Dm’s in bulk.

2.How to stop someone from retweeting your tweets?
Ans: Making your account “protected” can resist retweeting your tweets. This can be done by changing the privacy of accounts from public to protected.

3.Why can’t I undo old Retweets?
Ans: As stated earlier, the retweet may be quite old. In order to delete this retweet, you will need to retweet it again. The gray retweet icon will turn green and then you can undo your retweet.

4 How to delete multiple tweets?
Ans: you cannot delete multiple tweets. If you want to delete multiple tweets, you will have to do it manually, one by one, or you can also use some third-party applications to delete your tweets.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here